top of page
Search
  • ye_olde_bookworm

Bibliophiles In The Modern World.

Updated: Apr 21, 2020

In the age of computers, robots and machinery- it can sometimes be so hard to be a book-lover in today's modern world. So, you like books, and you have a talent for English and the written word? But the world seems more concentrated on their devices than imagination and fiction. Don't get me wrong, I don't have a problem with these people, but sometimes, I understand it can be hard to fit in and to see yourself as thriving and successful, professionally speaking, while working with your passions.

I am quite lucky to have the privilege of a bunch of nerds as my friends. All of whom I have bullied into participating in "The Fortune Teller Readathon" that I am co-hosting in Feb 2020. I have a few friends that love to read, more who like to pick up a book or two, and many who will just put up with my crazy ranting about my newest obsession. So, for any lonely readers out there- I will not insult you by pretending to understand the adversity you may face- but I can give you some advice!

1) Take a friend out to a bookstore- just because they aren't fond of literary sensations (I mean why are they not??) doesn't mean they won't like supporting you in your bookish journey.

2) Join a local book club, or set up your own- making friends is suuuuuuuuper difficult, I get it. But just surrounding yourself with people who are similar to you and being able to have some bookish convos with someone might help!

3) Just hang out at your local library- I do not do this, because I live in the smallest village so hardly anyone is in there anyway (especially not in the Y.A section) and the librarians are mean. But yours will be different! See who you meet in the sections you love- you might make an excellent bookish friend, who loves the genres you do!

 

But I do worry about my future, sometimes. Do I have an outdated skillset? Do I stand a chance of success in a world of mathematics and numbers? (Ew, lol.) Just last week, a customer at work exclaimed: "Oh, it's all bloomin' computers nowadays- you kids are obsessed with 'em!" As a young woman who cannot even operate a remote control to save her life, I was deeply offended by this! I don't know about you, but I get annoyed when people see that I am under the age of seventy (hopefully quite clearly?) and automatically assume that I sit in front of a box all day.

Now, don't get started- I have no desire to mock people for their hobbies and escapes, as I would not like anyone to mock me for mine- but I worry that a future of numbers and engineering might stunt my professional success in what I love. My brilliant mother is an engineer, and very modern, so much so that she sometimes can even make me feel old, and with her work, I see a prosperous future. But is there one for me?

I wonder if there are any more Bookies out there who feel the same? If any others worry whether they are going to be able to achieve a well-paid, satisfying, steady career in what makes them happiest?

And, I concluded- of course, we will! As much as the world progresses into a more mathematically meticulous place, there will always be a thinker, a dreamer, a lover of words and books somewhere. People are not human without stories. People cannot survive without stories- they are the very foundations of cultures, religions, and life. So, there will always be a bibliophilic society, community and career for you- and you will always be welcome. One must only read The Book Theif, which coincidentally was my last Instagram post, to see the necessity of books in life. Because aren't all humans, themselves, stories after all?

Bibliophiles in the modern world are beautiful, passionate, creative; artistic souls- who are full of life and vigour. Things like bookstagram, booktube and book blogs make me so happy; we are still a vital asset to the modern world. As the world is advancing we are adapting; as the world changing, so are we.


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page